The Advantages of Living in a Very Old City


One of the main advantages, the one I’ll illustrate for you: there are a lot of festivals, events, exhibition and you can imagine yourself living in more than one epoch…

These are photos I took the last 4-5 days at the Medieval Festival. Very easy to imagine oneself living in that epoch in a city like Sibiu (Hermannstdt). Downtown, everywhere you turn old houses and chrches and fortifications reminds you of the time of Draculya, Vlad the Impaler…

An ancient flame lighting system

An ancient flame lighting system

…and some very old and particular skills: hawk and owl tamming…

A Hawk landing for its reward - raw meat...

A Hawk landing for its reward – raw meat…

Landing Hawk fltrdAnd you meet old friends…

Nelu, sometimes a guitar player and an old friend

Nelu, sometimes a guitar player and an old friend

or beautiful young women… dressed in the Renaissance fashion…

Dulcinee from Basarabia

Dulcinee from Basarabia

The Beauty and the little and cute beast

The Beauty and the little and cute beast

Eventually, if you are lucky, you can catch some pretty funny characters, like this swarthy guy, trying to improve his looks wearing a helmet…

A man with rather bad teeth trying a Medieval Iron Helmet

A man with rather bad teeth trying a Medieval Iron Helmet

Or some bored medieval dressed vendors, tired at the end of the 3rd day of Festivities…

Boredom, medieval fashion and...electricity cable...

Boredom, medieval fashion and…electricity cable…

So, one did not get easily bored in Sibiu…lots of things to see and experience…You should try it (and No, the tourist board doesn’t pay me nothing; but this is my native town and I’m surely proud of it).

7 responses to “The Advantages of Living in a Very Old City

  1. The girl with the owl looks like she just stepped out of a Renaissance painting. I am sure she would have inspired the best painters of the day.
    I was once in Sibiu-Hermannstadt-Szeben, beautiful city.

    • Yes Erika, my impression too. I still have some other beautiful photos with her and was thinking of trying another Gioconda or Woman with an Hermine…In fact it’s NagySzeben (the big Szeben) and it changed a lot for the good in the last 6-7 years since a German (Saxon) Mayor, Johannis got elected. Best wishes and thanks for your comments and visits to my modest blog. I hope I could do more of that myself…

  2. Yes, I know it’s Nagyszeben. I thought almost all Saxons left, just the very old stayed behind. What a sad story, just thought of it the other day. All the bloody centuries in their chosen beloved land, all the perils they faced could not chase them away, but a simple shoemaker succeeded in that. A chapter in history’s revolving door ends.
    I enjoy your “modest” blog, even when I don’t comment, and always look for your posts, you’re a great storyteller.

    • Amost all the Saxons left, that’s true. But some stayed and Johannis is one of them. I’m afraid we cannot pin this one on the shoemaker (whom has lots and lots of sins, but not this one…he took advantage of it, too but he did not provoke it…The Germans (as did and do Romanians, Hungarians etc today) left themselves for economical and political (but mainly economical) reasons…Better in Germany. But some do come back when getting old. I just saw a friend and high school coleg, German, after 35 or more years…
      I appreciate a lot your appreciation…Doing my best…But got precious little time to blog or visit blogs…My father is quite capricious and demanding. And I came for him from Canada. Best wishes, Erika, for you and yours and keep up the good work. I wish I could try papier maché too. Seems like a sensual and interesting way to make art. Unfortunatelly, when in Art high school I got a grumpy, mean sculpture teacher who mined all my confidence that I could be a sculptor and ruined this art for me…

  3. Reblogged this on nós.

Leave a Reply

