Combining Vincent stuff with mine…


Selfportrait with Vincent’t skeleton

The following selfportrait, digitally manipulated, a bit, is one of my sinister self-portraits (well, yes, I did that also, not only the sunny, joyous, gay – no implication! – painting I used you to…) In it, I’ve combined a self-portrait of myself and the smoking skeleton from a Vincent Van Gogh unusual – for him – still life… At that time (2001, autumn & winter) I was working in a Waterville factory (they did drawers and other similar stuff from wood and plywood) and I was living in a moist, dark appartment not far away from the factory… lousy building, with noisy rednecks over my head and on the side… Since my elder son just founded his first love of his life and kind of kicked me out from the Sherbrooke appartment where we lived I was alone and not at all happy. I had just ended the separation from my wife, I was working to pay the bills and applied for bankrupcy (took all the familly’s debts on my large and powerfull shoulders…) and did not yet finished my Certificate in visual arts… in a word, I was up to my neck in the worst depression of my life… Add the separation from my other two children, the car which started to broke and a hundred other motifs for going down (getting old, for one…) and you’ll have the picture… Not at all a nice one… Suicide wasn’t too far away from my thoughts and the Ecclesiat was my favorite reading… I let a wild beard to grow and I really was scary, sometimes… every time I met a nice old lady on the street she would inevitably cross the road in a hurry, cloutching his purse at her chest and hectically lookind for a policeman… But then, as the Ecclesiast says, everything changes and there is a time for everything. That was my time for depression and since you read this it means I kind of overcome it. For now…

10 responses to “Combining Vincent stuff with mine…

  1. I think that with a little luck and a lot of good will you can overcome a depression, but I do not get the idea of the drawing that you exhibit above and whether a viewer is invited to guess which is Wan Gogh and which is yourself.

    I am new to this art of blogging, and I have yet to see whether I know how to put in a message.

    Sincerely,
    A.

  2. Read your post and found your self-portrait and the conditions under which you wrote it quite challenging. To me it has more of an air to Dali.
    Likewise, since you are so interestd in Van Gogh, you might be interested in reading a post I recently wrote on his cypresses:

    http://amelo14.wordpress.com/2007/11/20/reflections-a-sketch-on-van-gogh%e2%80%99s-cypresses/

    Andrés

  3. ovidiu stanomir

    pardon, ca revenii cu precizari:

    Alien se re-re-reintoarce ca o morisca in mintea incetzosata (de fumul tigarii, presupun) a lu’ Danu Jordache…

  4. to Arabella: the wild looking man at the front is my selfportrait… the skeleton smoking is an “excerpt” from a Van Gogh painting – one from the anvers or Neunen period, I think. I combine them digitally and put them in a mirror… and I love the name Arabella – une belle arabe?

  5. Thanks for your visit, amelo14! (By the way, I had a show in Magog *(Québec) with a Montreal photographer called de Melo) I an too lazy to search for the Van Gogh reproduction but if I found it I will post it so that you, and other, could see for yourselves the bizarre smoking skeleton…

    I star reading your very interesting, very complex text on the cypresses (I already confess I’m an old lazy limited energy painter so I will do in more than one “seances”…) and I even let a modest comment… Hope you’ll visit me again…

  6. Ovidius, monser, mintea mea e incetzosata de multe dar nu de fum de tzigara (din fericire). Cel mai mult o incetzosaza ispravile lui dl. G. si intrebarea cum o sa fac sa strang atatzia bani ca sa viu sa bem bere impreuna… c tariile fac rau la prostata…

  7. I have only come here to tell you that I just started to read on Rothko and he says he does not want to be considered an abstract painter.

  8. Strictly speaking, there is no such thing as an “abstract” painter… Only if you would speak or write about a painting, describing it in concepts… Any painting is made with material colors etc. so could not be “abstract”… And even the most “abstract” forms and colors can be found in some micro or macro image representing something real, figurative… a bacteria, a virus, a cell etc.

    In his film “Pollock” (painful to watch, sometimes, very intense) Ed Harris )”Pollock”) said about the same thing: you have to watch an “abstract” painting the same way you look at a flower bed…

    Myself, I know only good painters and bad painters… Abstract, figurative, etc. thats for the art historians and snob critics…

  9. Great entry, Danu, the drawing and the text!
    And great answer to Cantueso.

  10. Thanks, miki. You know something? I start to get on my own nerves with the sinister, sad stuff! Je pleurniche and I feel sorry for myself TROP! et je deprime tout le monde inclusivement moi-meme… Finallement, je suis assez chanceux: je fais ce que j’aime (je peint, je dessine, je lis et j’ecris) et si je ne suis pas riche ca n’a pas vraiment d’importance… Ca va venir, eventually… J’ai hate de voir tes Corridas! (t’as vu mon Minotaure? un torro imaginaire mais quand meme…)

Leave a Reply

