Kiwi & peaches


Just a question: are there any “correspondances”, in the baudelairian sense, among certain colors and certain parfumes, tastes, etc.? A possibilty to “translate” them into colors and texture and design?
Of course, it’s a rhetorical question… I’ve tried to render, in 2003, the pleasure – the tactil, palatal and well, “nasal” pleasure fruit like kiwi and peaches gave me in colors… I still try, now and then, since the poetry of Baudelaire is fundamental to me. If I suceeded, more or less, is for others to say… (This is a 20′ x 16′ acrylic painting on cardboard; still available…)

kiwi and peaches

E o simpla intrebare: este posibila o “corespondentza” , in sensul baudelairian, intre culori, parfumuri, mirosuri, etc.? Le putem oare “traduce” in culori, textura, compozitzie?

Desigur, o intrebare retorica… am incercat, in 2003, sa traduc in culori etc. gustul, parfumul, textura unor fructe precum kiwi-ul sau piersecile… Inca mai incerc sa fac asta, din cand in cand, avand in vedere ca poezia lui Baudelaire, “Les correspondences” este fundamentala pentru mine… Daca am reusit, cat de cat, nu e rolul meu s-o spun… (aceasta e o pictura acrilica de 20 inch pe 16 inch, pe carton si inca mai e de vanzare…)

7 responses to “Kiwi & peaches

  1. If you can get you hands on some acid, all those senses run together. I like this piece.

  2. I’ve just read about a Salvia divinorum, Bill… I will settle for that one… Glad you like it. I kind of like it too…

  3. “Quand, les deux yeux fermés, en un soir chaud d’automne,
    Je respire l’odeur de ton sein chaleureux,
    Je vois se dérouler des rivages heureux
    Qu’éblouissent les feux d’un soleil monotone;

    Une île paresseuse où la nature donne
    Des arbres singuliers et des fruits savoureux;
    Des hommes dont le corps est mince et vigoureux,
    Et des femmes dont l’oeil par sa franchise étonne.

    Guidé par ton odeur vers de charmants climats,
    Je vois un port rempli de voiles et de mâts
    Encor tout fatigués par la vague marine,

    Pendant que le parfum des verts tamariniers,
    Qui circule dans l’air et m’enfle la narine,
    Se mêle dans mon âme au chant des mariniers.”

    Oh yeahhhhh!

  4. Really pretty, Danu.

  5. Merci Miki pour les vers ! (Il n’y a pas deux Baudelaire, eh?)

    Thanks, swallows! (By the way, swallow in Russian is Sputnik, I reckon…)

  6. My Webster says Sputnik means “co-traveler”. If I had thought it meant “swallow” I wouldn’t have been so troubled when I saw it fly over. They say Americans felt bested and that’s true but I also felt a little spied on, a little threatened, by that damned thing.
    I like your painting above better all the time.

  7. It has something, has it? Maybe I succed a balance of the blues and oranges… I like it a lot too… I still have it.

    I’ve learned some Russian mostly from Russian films (some exceptional; like those of Tarkovsky, Ciuhrai, Nichita Mihalkov and Mihalkov-Koncealovski) so, I’m not to be trusted much in Russian… Mostly, I know phrases like: Ivan! davai mitraliera striliai Nemtzki…

Leave a Reply

