The year of the bizarrobaroques…


Bizarrobaroque is a word I made up in order to name some of my paintings… Bizarre, which means in French weird, odd. Baroque, after the artistical movement called like that: a movement with a lot of “fioritures” (arabesques? curves?) and not at all without weird things…

2003 was, for me, an odd year: filled with despair (at the beginning, when I caught my right hand in a 27 tones mould machine; fortunatelly, just some burning… anyway, that was the end, for me, of industrial jobs: I told to myself I will better starve as an artist than to work another day in a workshop…), not far away from the edge of madness (depression is a kind of madness, no?) and then filled with hope (after September, when I got my first good job in Quebec, Canada). The drawings and the paintings I’ve produced in 2003 reflect this mixture of despair, madness, humor and hope. I’ve tried a lot of compositions, a lot of colors, a lot of “themes”… Not very far away from the surrealism… Bizarre, odd creatures… Far out landscapes… exotic colors…

Arianne

The two paintings I post here are from that strange and strained period. One it’s called (I think…) “Arianne killed by the Extraterestrials” and the other something like “Wild” (Farouche, in French). I kind of doubt that all my friends (there are a few out there…) will like this kind of “kinky” painting… But I do not reject them. They, too, are “me”… (Did I’ve ever told you you I like a lot some surrealist artists like Max Ernst, Delvaux, Giorgio de Chirico?)

wild stuff

9 responses to “The year of the bizarrobaroques…

  1. A great word this “bizarrobaroque”! I have already adopted your picturality, and even used it somewhere in a blog. I love to invent words myself, and have always discussions with Kevin about it, him trying to correct me saying:
    “It doesn’t exist!”
    and me answering:
    “I don’t care, it sounds good!”
    And it is easy for people like you and me, Danu, speaking many languages, to invent great words, using the best of each language!
    This is funny: like me, you seem to use very happy and bright colours when you are depressed! I do it many times, the more depressed, the brightest and most vibrant the colours!
    And well, I am one of your friends out there which like your “kinky” paintings. I especially love the second one, as always I strongly react to reds and oranges and yellows.

  2. Just like you, miki, I do not care much for conventions (doesn’t mean I will go around naked… not now, anyway… it’s still minus 8 – 4 today, and the snow is melting mais tellement lentement!)
    and I think that if a word sounds good and is understandable, well, the dictionnary is changing all the time, anyway…

    Glad you like me kinky paintings… I just dicovered a new color from Liquitex: burn cadmium orange! when you look at it is like sienna brulé mais quand tu l’étends un peu ca devienne orange… une sorte d’orange étaint qui peu reviver son feu: great!

  3. What a wonderful description of your new colour: un orange eteint qui peut raviver son feu! Danu you should contact this company and propose them your services to describe their colours. I am not kidding!

  4. Tu crois, miki, qu’ils vont me donner quelques tubes? I’m not kidding either…

  5. Danu, si tu as la possibilité de les joindre par mail, par exemple, écris-leur en leur disant que tu es un peintre professionnel, fanatique de leurs couleurs et demande=leur s’ ils sont intéressés par des descriptions très artistiques et inspiratrices de leurs couleurs. Tu ajoutes même ajouter que certains artistes, apres avoir lu tes descriptions, t’ on contacté pour te demander des précisions sur la marque. Tu peux donner mon nom si tu veux, et parler d’ artiste internationale. Donne-leur l’ exemple du feu éteint.
    Et tu demandes en contre-partie une renumération en argent, ou en matériel.
    Cela ne te coute rien d’ essayer. Mais choisis bien l’ endroit ou tu envoies ton mail. Peut-être qu’ une lettre personnalisée serait mieux, avec imprimé dessus un des tableaux peints avec feu éteint.
    Ton avis?

  6. Danu, I just had a look at http://www.liquitex.com
    Je ne sais pas si tu le connais, mais explore le un peu. En plus il a tout un programme de recherche d’ artistes avec des prix en argent et en matériel. Et l’ artiste du mois etc . Ceci prouve au moins qu’ ils supportent la communauté d’ artistes.
    L ‘ idée de leur donner des descriptions de couleurs comme la tienne est assez originale pour les intéresser, a mon avis. Et puis tu peux aussi soumettre un dossier pour gagner …

  7. Merci, Miki, pour tes (très bonnes) idées et pour l`interêt que tu porte à ma peinture. Je vais técrire bientôt un email plus long. Merci encore…et je vais y aller voir le link…

  8. je t’ ai envoyé un mail moi-même, mais je ne suis pas sure d’ avoir utilisé la bonne adresse… tu l’ as reçu?

  9. Non, miki, pas pour le moment…non sur yahoo et non sur gmail.

    Je vais t,ecrire moi-meme bientot…

Leave a Reply

