Covers…


Even if almost nobody used, untill now, my abilities to produce a cover (a book cover or a CD cover or DVD cover) I still produced some… Well, I did it for my son Dan Lucian, who is a filmmaker but he’s family… It is a field I would like a lot to explore (and if I would be payed for my work the better…) but, as so many “fields”, rests, for the moment, quasi untouched… Still, here are two of my essays…The first is a CD cover for some hip-hop or rap band… a new one… I got to know, by chance, one of the members (enough to find out the name, KB and what he wanted for the band logo…) He never come back for the result in which I used (and “aged”) a portrait I’ve taken of a very sad teenager…

The second sample, which I intend to use for my own unfinished (yet) novel called Avatars (in French) is one of my sonderklasse paintings. One of my few collectors, an ex-nun, has it and I entitled it “Fallen Angel”… It could be used both ways (upside down) and was one of my texture experiments…

12 responses to “Covers…

  1. what’s the novel about?

  2. It’s called Avatars and it’s about an old man pushed too far who turns up a serial killer… a bit like No Country for Old Man…

  3. These are great designs and paintings, Danu! I especially love the fallen angels…
    I did not know that you are writing a book, but honestly I always thought that you should!
    And yes it is always very dangerous to push somebody too far…
    Je suppose que c’ est assez autobiographique, alors: combien en as-tu tué déjà? 🙂

  4. thanks, miki!

    Well, the serial killer stuff is hypothetical, of course… and I eventually write the novel in order not to do it for real… Nobody push me that far yet… and I don’t think I have it in me… but it’s interesting to imagine that kind of absolute power…

  5. ovidiu stanomir

    DaNu_le, adevarul e ca te cam pricepi la toate ale picturii, graficii, artelor vizuale si ce-o mai fi prin domeniu.

    Problema e cind si cum te va descoperi omul destupat la minte si plin de bani, cu care sa-ti pui in valoare calitatile…

  6. I really don’t think you have it in you, Danu! Extremely kind people perhaps need this kind of fantasy as a compensation, somehow, fuer das kosmische Gleichgewicht sozusagen!
    What amazes me in this serial killer stuff, is not so much the power they suddenly have, but the unbearable simplicity of life and death, and their incredible closeness, where and when ever we are… Awfully scaring!

  7. Da, ovidiu, aia e problema! si daca…

  8. Est-ce que t’a vu No country for old men, Miki? (my ideea and even fragments of my “novel” were anterieur but it fits in some respects…) Javier Bardem really plays the most frigthful mass murderer (or serial Killer, I don’t reallty know what’s the correct term…) I ever seen in movies, except, maybe, the one played by Brad Pitt in Kalifornia!

  9. I’m like Miki, danu–I particularly like the Fallen Angel cover.
    Do you see?–Miki doesn’t believe you have it in you to go a-serial killing. We’ll have to read your novel to decide!

  10. I don’t think you will be able to judge after my eventual novel, swallows… It’s more to that than the intelectual capacity to plan it or even the anger to do it… I also like Fallen Angels and hope to be able to use it as a cover… One thing is certain: my novel, if any, will be SHORT…

  11. I hope you do write that novel, Danu.

    These are wonderful– I love Fallen Angel.

  12. I did not totally loosed hope to do it, moonbeam! Sorry I didn’t visit you as often as I wish…mundane business, you know…

    The reproduction I had for FA is not that good but well, I can say now, having the cover, that I’ve started the novel, can I?

    Hope you are well and better…

Leave a Reply

