Nudes 2005


Back to 2005’s portfolio…

That means also back to nudes, since 2005 was a very rich year in nudes. I’ve painted and draw them (probably I should say “it” but I love and respect them too much…) in charcoal and watercolor, in ink and acrylics…

Here are some samples…

…and another…

…and another charcoal one (technique I rarely use – it’s messy and my studio is a very little and cluttered… it’s not charcoal dust that I need; but still, I show you this in order to prove that I still know how to use it…)

10 responses to “Nudes 2005

  1. These are wonderful – your love for the subject really shows through. The watercolor has such strong rich color. Did you do the color during the pose or add it afterward?

    Your charcoal pieces have a great dynamic – the few sharp straight lines (such as the crease in the stomach or the chair legs) in the midst of all the curves is a nice contrast.

    I love depicting the figure also – I’ve tried drawing/painting it but realize it would take me too long to acquire the skill to do what I want with it, so I’ve settled on photography as my medium for figurative work.

  2. Photography could be a great medium, bob! I use it also and there were times when I use it almost exclusively… Where can I see your pictures?

    To answer your question: I add color – I repaint it – afterwards because the pose time is only 10-20 minutes… So, it would be impossible, practically… Ok with me since it gives me time and opportunity to correct the errors and to add some life to it, through color…

    Thanks for your appreciation. I came back to drawing and painting after a 25 yeas pause to find that my gusto for the stuff was greater and even my talent more ripe…as a teenager I was talented by kind of mor inhibited and with too many theories in the head…

  3. Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous.

  4. Thank, Moonbeam and very glad to see you visit here…Hope everything is a litlle better…

  5. By the way, bob, I’ve seen some of your pictures… I take only half a brain to Google your name… They are, to cite Moonbeam, “gorgeaos”, nostalgic images with saturated precious colors, very well composed (I liked especially your landscapes)… each and everyone of them a “painting” in itself… Sometimes I wonder why do I bother with paints etc. But them, painting and drawing it’s a lot more physical pleasure…

  6. Hi,
    I really enjoy your blog and am very drawn to your art. I’ve added you to my reader. Please keep posting. I look forward to seeing and hearing more.
    smiles,
    alicia in Hawaii

  7. bobcornelis

    I know what you mean about the physical aspect of making art. Photography, especially now in the era of digital capture and output, has become more removed from the tactile interaction some of us like. One reason I used to do pastels was the immediacy of holding the pastel in my hand – not even a brush between me and the pigment (of course, that made for a lot of mess!).

    I think you’ve been to my blog (http://bobcornelis.wordpress.com) but that is where I’m posting my new work. One day I’ll get around to updating my website…

  8. Thank you very much, Alicia in Hawaii (that’s where they filmed Magnum with my prefered Tom selleck, isn’t it?) For the rare occurence that I meet on the Internet people like you (and Bon and susan and some others) I do continue to post on my blog…

  9. I did fixed photos with vinegar, bob, in the times of my “commuist” youth in Romania… Then, to have some good film – and ORWO, the est german product was, Romanian standards, very good – was something… Kodak or Agfa or Fuji! would have been luxuries… But we were young and that did compensate, a bit…

    Yes, I also love pastels (but still cannot afford them often; and I hate fixing them…) and acrylics, with its texture possibilities, gives me a great tactil pleasure… I would love also to paint big canvases, like the last Baigneuses de Cezanne… 3 x 6 m (that would be about 9 per 18 feet?)…. Fight with the colors and the canvas…

    But how can I in my small studio/appartment? Maybe someday…

    And yes, I liked a lot your photos, the saturated, rare colors and the reffined composition of the image…

  10. kookimebux

    Hello. And Bye.🙂

Leave a Reply

