Acrylics, texture, mystery…


These last weeks I’ve finished 2 landscapes in acrylics. I’m usually not satisfied by what I do but these two gave me some pleasure… A rare pleasure, a pleasure I suppose each artist expects from his/her work… I cannot explain it entirely… It’s kind of a mystery… and that’s not a bad thing…


I’ve discovered acrylics here, in Canada. In my native country, during my art high school years, it was unknown, practically… Artist material were rare, pretty expensive and not very good. No imported colors or paper, no known trademarks… We painted with what was produced locally and acrylics weren’t produced… So, I’ve seen acrylics for the first time about 10 years ago … I use them since and I’m far from knowing everything about them.
No secret I’m a big fan of acrylics. I love their fast drying, the possibility to work layer after layer, almost immediately. The flexibility, the possibilities for varied textures, the transparent use of “glacis” (transparent, diluted layers of color), the vivid and rare nuances of composed colors…

Texture, especially, is a particularity I love in acrylics. |Sure, one can also have some texture in oil or pastel but nothing could give you the rich, subtle and vigorous textures you can obtain with the acrylics heavy gel mediums…

I hope these two landscapes (inspired by photos from my native Transylvania, near Sibiu) will give you some visual pleasure, a small fraction at least  of the pleasure I had (orgasms!) painting them… It confirms what Cexanne said once: “Dont be an art critic, but paint, there lies salvation”… and pleasure, a lot of intelectual and physical pleasure…

13 responses to “Acrylics, texture, mystery…

  1. ovidiu stanomir

    “Mai rarurtz, ca-i mai dragutz”, se zice pe la Sighii. Adicatelea, chiar daca spui ca pictezi mai putin ca inainte, apoi si cind o faci, iese ceva tare fain ! Felicitari !

  2. Da, Ovidiu, cam asta ar fi ideea… Azi am mai terminat un peisagel, o vedere de la Biertan, sub un cer de ploaie… Nu prea rea…

  3. Danu! Eu ador acei 2 din Ardeal aproape Sibiu! You are such a versatile painter (and photographer, and writer in 3 languages too!) but I must say that it’s your landscapes, in particular, that go straight from my eye to my heart…. Ce culoari!!! Keep up the wonderful work, and I’m reminded also to visit here more often. Chapeu bas cu revernta, Ion Vincent Danu.

  4. Well, thanks a lot, D! I certainly hope you’ll visit often and I’m glad you like my landscapes… Hope to do more this summer…

  5. dude, totally awesome,.. I love the orange green and blue in the top one and the lower one even has a little bit of that with a lot more green…the bottom one seems more gloomy and wintry for sure… great texture, they do seem a little mysterious,.
    I totally agree with you about acrylics, I also like the fast drying, the flexibility, you can layer it easier than oil, the gel mediums for texture and whatnot,… -Ed

  6. Thanks, ed, you did understood exactly my point and more… I can tell you the reproductions are not as good as the original painting, especially for the second one… Yes, I succede something mysterious… It rarely happens but when it does it’s a great feeling… It gets you motivated to continue, to try to feel it again…

  7. Hi Danu! This is the first time that I see your fantascapes and this is a great moment! Susan had asked me if I had seen them while I was in Portugal, but i had no chance to have a look at your blog.
    These two are really great, and I am so happy that you enjoy doing them!

  8. Hi, miki! Great to have you back… Of course, now and then I followed you and kev around Portugal (you lucky one!) But , in fact, these are only simple landscapes I finished lately. My fantascapes (3 until now) are at my other blog (I have 2 active), that is:
    http://iondanu.wordpress.com/… Look at them when you got time (which, I know, is an article not in exccess….)

  9. Danu: I like these two paintings and all three of your fantascapes on the other blog so much that I decided to try some paintings of my own again. I am particularly curious about what you call acrylic ink. I like the way you write and draw on the painting. But at my paint-supplier no one had ever heard of such a thing. Could you give me a manufacturer or a precise name of a product so I could order it? Will any fountain ink pen do?

  10. Hi, Swallows, glad my painting gave you the itch…

    The ink it’s called Acrylic Artists Ink and the producer is Daler Rowney (British, I think). Here, in Canada it’s easely to be find at any serious artist material shop. I think Pelikan does some also. Mey advice would be to begin with some more exotic colors like Orange Flame and Rowney Blue (which is the same, almost, as the Phtalocyanine blue) and yes, white would be very useful (Burnt Omber also)… Tell me how it goes… As for the paintings (last ones) most of them are pure acrylics colors with, maybe, some white ink… No, I don’t think the fauntain pen inks will do it… Pebeo also does some pretty interestings inks, but not acrylics, I think. and they are pretty tricky to mixt…

  11. Re-hi, swallows! here it is a link to Daler rowney acrylic inks which are listed as available in US, UK and Europe:

    http://tinyurl.com/5rzegm

  12. Thanks a lot, Danu! I may have to order on-line because my local art supply stores are closed in August. I can’t wait to see how the inks work. Of course I know that inks don’t make the artist. I remember once at a drawing session when I wanted another student to admire my drawing he starting making a fuss over my pencil. “Is that a special pencil?” he asked.

  13. Swallos, my pleasure… But try it on watercolorpaper of minimum 140 lbs (300 g) to get really food results…

    Your anecdote with the special pencil gave me the itch (well, manner of speaking) to be greatly irreverent… since persons like that one (artists wannabees) gets on my nerves…. (I won’t tell how irreverent but you can imagine…)

    Keep me posted with your results, will you?

Leave a Reply

