Progress report: presumably, the final phase…


Yesterday, I’ve proceeded to glazing a almost final glacis to my painting. A yellow one. I’ve mixted one 1/2 of Transparent Yellow medium (a Rembrandt/ Talens special, I didn’t find with other trade marks) and one ½ of Cadmium Yellow deep hue (Liquitex) with the necessary quatity of water and passed quickly the semitransparent glacis over ALL the painting… The result is visible bellow…

Why did I do such a thing? (the operation could trash my whole “masterpiece”…)

Well, for one thing, it will give my painting UNITY, a quality old masters paintings usually has… The yellow layers would “melt” down colors stringencies, and would give me the final opportunity to finely “tune” the color contrasts and the value contrasts… We’ll see if I am or not (probably not yet…) a “master”…

4 responses to “Progress report: presumably, the final phase…

  1. ovidiu stanomir

    Ion Vincent Danu in perioada a(i)uriu-verzuie, dulce-amaruie…

  2. This is indeed unified but now I miss the blue robe and I guess Miki misses the green skin of the Mona Lisa. But it was brave of you to show us the three stages and brave of you to ignore our opinions and go on to do your own thing. Good. She has gained, I think, by that last vellatura. The whole demonstration was very interesting.

  3. Ma nebunesc dupa ciocolata dulce amaruie, mai ales intr-un expresso fierbinte… dar mi-o permit rar, Ovidiu…

  4. One cannot have everything, I suppose, swallows?
    But Ill do my best to remake the silk bathrobe which is a bit overworked already… No go for the green skin since this is not one of my usual bizarro-baroque but a try to do classic-like stuff…

    Myself, I’m curious about the lizard…

Leave a Reply

