Serpent’s fascination?


I haven’t the slightest idea why serpents surge so often in my paintings. Is it that I like their curves? (but them I also like women’s curves… Oups! woman… serpent… Eve… THE serpent…)   Could be. Anyway, this is one of my latest acrylics. I entitled it “The Serpent’s Egg” because there is an “egg” and then there is also the evocative name of a Ingmar Bermann‘s films…

And no, I almost never know how a paintings becomes THAT painting and why I give them the names I gave them… A suggestion, a mental phrase, floating among my synapses, a recent lecture, who knows?  Sometimes, the titles change but usually I stay with the first ones…

8 responses to “Serpent’s fascination?

  1. Great color, composition and subject matter! The snakes are great, but I really like what you’ve done with the background in this one. The warm vs the cool colors contrast beautifully and the texture (always my weak spot) gives the piece a lot of depth.

    Interesting how paintings get named – I guess everyone has their own method. Have you ever just been totally stumped about what to name something? I know I have. Sometimes it’s just a complete blank… I wonder if there are any techniques out there, similar to what people do about writer’s block?

  2. Thanks, Bob!

    Did you ever fool around with some acrylic heavy body gel? or even with the inpasta of acrylics? It helps a lot with you sense of texture…

    I don’t remember to have been totally stumped about what name to give to one of my paintings… But some are better than others and I have one called, for instance, “The Death Has Snake (yes…always the snakes!) Eyes” which name was a citation from a Clint Eastwood movie, The Unforgiven… and, thanks, oh, Lord! for I never had a problem equivalent of the writers block… I draw and paint without problems (but the good stuff is rare, of course). Just yesterday I’ve finnished a landscape (with a lot of texture) of a monastery in Greece I’m pretty proud of…You’ll see it soon…

  3. A fantastic painting, Danu! I love everything, the ones which Bob loves, and the other ones too. You seen to be in a great creative phase at the moment, I feel a lot of positive vibs here!

    Concerning the name of paintings, this is for me the worst part. I generally don’t like to put words on the paintings. But if a name comes to my mind I use it, good or not. And if nothing comes, what often happens to me, I call Kevin! He always has some words fitting somehow…

  4. Glad you like it, miki! effectivement, septembre est, d’habitude, une bonne mois pour moi… Je ne sais pas pourquoi? Mon peak biologique?

    Et je devrais vraiment peindre mieux et plus car j’ai signé pour acheter une voiture neuve! (pas grand chose, une Kia Rio, mais pour moi c’est déjà qqchose…)

    Je fais comme toi, si une nom m’est suggèré par la peinture, je l’utilse… Sinon, il y a toujours la solution des Composition no…. Comment ca marche avec le démenagement & la nouvelle gallerie?

  5. I really like these acrylics of yours, very nice raw texture and color balance. Nice warm tones mixed with cool ones and nice dark areas also. I also use odd phrases or words that come randomly in my head to name a work!

  6. Thanks, Ed! Naming a finished painting is a supplementary pleasure, isn’t it?

  7. There is something so seductive about snakes.

    Naming my paintings is my favorite part. It’s a chance to give more depth to the art, to expand on the imagination.

  8. Eva’s talking, shelley! (joking!)

    ..and yes, a good title can add richness to a painting. Still, a good painting with a bad name remain a good painting…but it”s better to have a good one, of course.

Leave a Reply

