Crossroads, crossing people, crisscross…


I could never understand boredom. Of course, there are moments when I get antsy, when I am tired, nervous or anxious… There still are these kind of moments… but most of the time, I DO NOT get bored… There is always something interesting going on, there is always something interesting to see, to hear, to smell, to touch…

As a visual artist, especially, I cannot remember the last time I was bored. Everything around could be – IS – interesting. The more so if you are a portraitist, if people’s faces are your main interest… No lack of people, everywhere…No lack of faces & expressions…

I was browsing my old photos when I’ve felt on this one: a snapshot of a train window, a crossing of people I will never meet again, probably, at a crossroad, somewhere near Sighisoara, Romania, in the summer of 2009…

Just a quick, impulsive snapshop with my new (then) camera Fuji. Trying to catch the fleeting moment… a direct look of the teen-age girl, the amazed, wondering look of the small girl, a curious look of the boy and the tired, kind of sad expression of the father (I suppose…) You can tell a story or write a novel with this photo as a starting point…

I don’t know exactly why I associate this random photo with my epiphany, one winter late night, when I was looking from a window the twirling snow flakes outside. One moment, I was almost crazy with anguish (my then teenage daughter was at a party, and late…). Then, one moment later, looking ar the wind twirling snow flakes, I was at peace, accepting fate, accepting everything as it comes… Don’t know why, don’t know how… Just happened…

Maybe it’s this crisscross… Snowflakes, crossing each other in a randomly, apparently chaotic manner, sometimes touching each other, melting away when reaching earth… Just like us, people, crisscrossing each other in apparently chaotic, randomly lives… Touching, sometimes…

P.s. I know «crossing people» has also another meaning…but I don’t really care…I’m just an Amateurish English speaker…

14 responses to “Crossroads, crossing people, crisscross…

  1. Beautiful photo. I love the idea that you have captured a moment of their lives they will probably not remember but may have a big impact on who they become. Also the contrast of the look of amazement from the little girl to out right boredom of the father is very interesting.

  2. Thanks! Travelling with a camera, not a bad idea…

  3. You are like me… boredom? What is that? A dom at Bora-Bora?
    Salve Dane, da-mi un semn… Am plasat un link spre tine… poate faci si tu la fel…
    Numai bine,
    Dan

  4. Buna, Dane! O sa incerc sa fac si eu chestia cu linkul (desi cu technologia stau cam prost…) Mersi de vizita! Vara asta mergi la Sibiu? Eu voi fi acolo (daca ajunge avionul, desigur) in iulie… Poate ne re-vedem… Mi-ar face placere…
    A propos, Decean a fost cu tine in clasa? L-am intalnit si imprietenit pe Facebook…Tu esti acolo?

  5. ovidiu stanomir

    Dane, îţi cam neglijezi blogul…

  6. Loved your post, your musings are poetic. I don’t get bored either, if there’s no sculpture, there’s painting, if there’s no painting, there’s drawing. If there is none (like this summer’s trip), then I use whatever I can get my hands on (rocks on the beach this time). And there’s always your thoughts to play with also…

    • Thanks, Erica! Hope you are well and as creative as ever. Kind of neglected my old sites, my old friends… sometimes, before drawing or painting, I got discouraged by the situation (economical, especially…) but then it passes…

  7. Me too….as much as we like to mock Facebook sometimes, seems to be a better alternative to keep contact with people, artists, friends. Discouraged or not, we do what we have to do. Cheers, keep your spirits up. Noroc!

    • ThaNKS, Erica. Are you on Facebook as Erika TAkacs? I will search for you and send you a friend request if Ok with you….

  8. Here’s the link: https://www.facebook.com/#!/erika.takacs

    I couldn’t find you either! strange…

    • I,m sure sooner or later (Sooner or Later – Supertramps!) we will cross each other on Facebook…To help the fate, Danu, le caricaturiste en Estrie, my Facebook page should be, I hope, visible…Best wishes, Erika!

Leave a Reply

