Everything is a question of perception…


This idea is a very old one. How old only the first men can say…

What is fairly new, for me, personally, is that my blog tends to become something important in my life. (Ok, I was nominated – Thanks again, adampbellotto, I’m honored! for the Kreativ Blogger Award… but it started before that…)  My blog was, also, before: a kind of journal, an artist journal… But now, it seems, I dream about it and more often than not, lately, I semi-wake up with a post entirely written in my mind. Like this morning when I came up with this:

I am a blogger. Everything is a question of perception.

I am a visual artist. Even more, everything is a question of subjective PERCEPTION.

I am a man. I perceive the world as a man. Question of perception.

I am a human being. As such, my attitude toward events, the way I PERCEIVE them, is essential.

In a phrase: PERCEPTION IS EVERYTHING!

Don’t worry yet. This is not, probably, a new Course in Miracles, waiting to happen… but then, that too, is a question of perception…

To counter megalomania, here it is a photo of myself as the re-incarnation of El ingenioso hidalgo don Quixote de la Mancha:

El ingenioso hidalgo

Bertrand Russel (a very smart cookie, that one)  said once:

“The megalomaniac differs from the narcissist by the fact that he wishes to be powerful rather than charming, and seeks to be feared rather than loved. To this type belong many lunatics and most of the great men of history.”

Now, to counter my innate narcissism (but isn’t narcissism innate in practically everyone?) I will show you my most recent face:

Me? a megaloman? me? a narcissist?!?

Finally, my all times preferred photo:

Prophetic photo of mine, when I was 5-6 years old...

This final one is not to counter but to stimulate both my megalomania and my narcissism. See, everything is a matter of perception…

 

Note. I am not in public domain. The content of this blog, text and images, is copyrighted to me, Dan Iordache (alias Ion Vincent Danu).

7 responses to “Everything is a question of perception…

  1. Danu, you’re the best!

    A matter a perception?! Probably!

    And you CAN really make me laugh!

    Loved your 3 excellent pics (also: “cavalerul tristei figuri”- is that romanian?- if so, sounds a bit like Italian, too. “a triste figura do cavaleiro”)

    Well, going on like this, you’ll get there! You’ll win the “Kreativ Blogger Award”!

    (Why “kreativ” (German) and not creative, the English word?! I asked adampbellotto about it and he just didn’t know why.)

    Bacci tanti!

    C.

    • I’m very glad I can make you laugh! A good laugh does a lot of good to the soul and if I have this effect on you (and hopefully, others) it is already something… Yes, cavalerul tristei figuri is in Romanian (el caballero del trista figura? in Sp.?) and yes, probably it resembles Portugues and Italian too…
      I don’t have the slightest idea why Kreativ. Maybe it’s stronger? Back at you in Italian!
      (P.S. It is possible I will take a short – I hope! – vacation! no internet, no tel, no nothing…)

  2. P.S. This was my question about this kreativ / creative thing:

    “Somehow you’ve already arisen my curiosity (before you my good friend Ivdanu did!)…
    Just a brief question before “leaving you”: why are you people using the German word “kreativ” instead of “creative”?! Is it some kind of a joke, critics, irony, or something?! Or am I being too stupid to get the point of it?”

    (Just being curious… )

    Bacio.

    C.

  3. Reblogged this on nós and commented:
    Só mesmo o Danu para pensar nestas coisas…

  4. You’re funny, Don Quijote (de la triste figura). Are you drawing your mom in that prophetic photo? It is a nicey.

    • Maybe…maybe…But them I don,t remember what I have done yesterday… I still owe you an email, G. but right now I have some unfinished business to finish… I took a vacation, starting today, from all the licensing sites (no results anyway…) and hope to draw and paint a bit…Be patient with me, my friend…

Leave a Reply

