I was nominated for the Kreativ Blogger Award!


It is not my fault! This is entirely Adam Bellotto doing, a blogger I know just because we are both huge fans of Justified, Mad Men, Deadwood, Breaking Bad and some other tv series and movies…

Thanks, Adam Bellotto ( http://eatsleeptelevision.wordpress.com/ ) ! I don’t know you very well yet but I know so well this cycle: eat-sleep-televison – inversed, sometimes, sleep-television-eatalot- sleepalittle, televisonaLOT… Sometimes, I don’t really know if I am me or Rylan or Walter White or Adam or Seth Bullock (sometimes I fancy myself as Al Swearengen)…

So he is the one who nominated me, and some others, more kreativ bloggers, for this award I never heard off before…

But there are so many things I never heard off before (don’t ask me what is an iPad or and iPod because you could be surprised of how much I DON’T KNOW about! I am a true Sarah Palin of the technology…)

I suppose, this could be no. 1 of the 7 interesting (hopefully!) things about me. Here are the rest:

2. I am a native of Transylvania, more precisely of Sibiu (Hermannstadt) an old, medieval city, where Valad the Impaler supposedly lived a coupleof years with his second wife, the sister of Matei Corvin, the king of Hungary…

Here it is: Vlad the Impaler, in his only know authentic portrait:

Vlad the Impaler

3. I am, like Hokusai, an old geezer, crazy for drawing (not sure that’s the right phrase for ” vieux fou du dessin” but…) I would like to pay my gas and my food and my credit cards with drawings and watercolors but they say they cannot possibly take them because they (my drawings & watercolors) are priceless…

4. I am extremely courageous since I’ve learned my English mostly reading Hemingway, Shakespeare, Raymond Chandler, Faulkner, Asimov, Philip K. Dick  and Kurt Vonnegut Jr on the side) and looking/listening at A LOT of American and British movies and only a little during my University years as a History-English student… and still I dare to write a blog in English!

My preferred citation from Philip K. Dick is: “It is sometimes an appropriate response to reality to go insane.”  (I’ve tried that a few times…)

5. I choose my artist name, Ion Vincent DAnu, because Da-Nu means in my native language YES-No and it seemed appropiate to me to be something like a Yang-Yin symbol, even if, after a while I started to sign only with my Scarecrow sign. This one (how I arrived to this sign is another story I probably tell you one day…):

6. I am a huge Vincent van Gogh’s fan and student which, of course, explains why I called this blog “Van Gogh and I” (remark the modest “I”). Vincent was one of my first contact with the art world (a fateful hazard made me to come upon his Letters at age 12!) and, together with some other books (like Francis Carco’s “Les Artists maudits”! the Damned Artists?)  the main stimulants for me to enter the Visual Arts High-School in Sibiu…

7. ? Nothing more comes to mind… Oh, yes! I love Elmore Leonard (I know some snobs will wriggle their noses…) and I didn’t know until recently that he was the literary source for movies I love profusely like “HOMBRE” and Mr. Majestyk and The Last Stand at Saber River (yeah! I like both Paul Newman and Charles Bronson and Tom Selleck and I am not revulsed that the last one is NRA!)

Anyway. Since it seems I have an obligation (it’s mostly a pleasure for me!) to nominate another 7 kreativ bloggers here are my choices (browse them and you’ll see why I nominated them! the order is purely a hazard):

1. http://moonbeammcqueen.wordpress.com/

2. http://100swallows.wordpress.com/

3. http://erikatakacs.wordpress.com/about/

4. http://mikiaboom.wordpress.com/

5. http://mcfsantos.wordpress.com/

6. http://onpainting.wordpress.com/

7. http://susancornelis.wordpress.com/

I’ll try to announce them about the good news and then I’ll take a short vacation of a months or two because writing this post tired me very much (imagine the big, huge inmate from The Green Mile saying to Tom Hanks “I am dog tired, boss! dog tired…)

10 responses to “I was nominated for the Kreativ Blogger Award!

  1. Mr. I Congratulation, You deserve it. Good Day Nonoy Manga

  2. diditevercrossyourmind

    Congratulations! and its true! you do have a very interesting blog…🙂

  3. Wow, how interesting! I hope to learn more about Van Gogh through reading your blog. I really find his art moving! I saw one in a museum once….it was a tree on rocks… a small piece… but it had so much movement. As I walked backwards it just seemed to literally come alive. I could have stood there for an hour but I was with someone else. Congratulations on your award! Looks like you are very Kreative!

    • It is my hope too, Terri! To bring my modest contribution to the better understanding of Vincent’s life and works. I try to be creative… they say those who speak or write more than one language and engage in intellectual games etc. have more chances to escape the feared Altzheimer disease…

  4. Amigo:

    Loved the 7 interesting things about you! (How could I not have?!)

    No.1. You’re also “out”! I’m glad! It’s not only me! And it’s SO good that we don’t know it all!
    No.2. Also interesting, though nothing new to me, except for the information about this “beauty of man”, Vlad the Impaler.
    No. 3 made me both sad and happy. (And you know why… I laughed ’cause you make fun out of it, but…)
    No. 4. made be very proud of you. (Well, I was already proud of you and of your English and so…)
    Your beloved quotation is quite a good one and “I’ve tried” it as well. Somehow insanity is part of me and it gives me balance.
    No.5 Loved the “origin” of your artist name and, finally, found out what kind of sign was the one that came out next to your comments: a scarecrow! Are you the one? The crow who scares others? Or did you draw it not to be scared?!
    No.6. Your love and fascination for van Gogh is also nothing unexpected , but the way you put it into words “I am a huge Vincent van Gogh’s fan and student (…)” is superb! And you began with the greatest at a very young age!
    No. 7 is awesome, although I don’t know the meaning of NRA… (Does it have anything to do with the 2nd amendment?)

    Taking vacation now, ha?! (…)

    Well, I guess you deserve it! Awards seem to be tiring, indeed!

    Besos! Muchos!

    En Español para que lo entiendas mejor… O no? Que me dices?
    Portugués es más fácil?

    Hasta pronto!

    C.

    Portugues es mas facil! Portugheza e mai facila (=Ro.) Thanks, c, for your kind and affectionate words. Sorry I have to answer in a hurry! Yes, NRA = the National Rifle association in the US and Tom Selleck is now something as Charlton Heston was before…

    I will tell you about the scarecrow as soon as I come back (but a reference could be the movie with the same name, “Scarecrow”, by Jerry Schatzberg, with Al Pacino and Gene Hackmann)

  5. Reblogged this on nós and commented:
    Thanks Danu!

  6. The “Sarah Palin of technology.” Hahaha!

    I loved learning these seven wonderful things about you. You are one of the most interesting people (and artists) I’ve had the pleasure of meeting in the blog world. You also confirmed that you and I love many of the same movies, TV shows and authors (wasn’t “Deadwood” fantastic?).

    Thank you for passing this award onto me, my friend. Coming from you, it’s a huge honor.

    • Oh, Moonbem, you deserve this award much more than myself! and thanks you for your generous words! Only natural that we have similar tastes in movies…you believe in fate, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

