Self-portait, Why Do We Do it? (II)


One thing for sure, we rarely do it (if I am to judge by myself) because we are happy. Most of my self portraits are pretty somber or even, let’s say it, crazy. Mad as a matter, one time or another. Some sample from my depression time (about 2000-2003):

6B pencil

6B pencil

Pretty severe, eh? and another one, even more sumber, dark and gloomy…

Black Ink on watercolor paper

Black Ink on watercolor paper

I also did some a bit more funnier, like this parody of a Zen Buddhist Monk:

Autoportrait As a Zen Monk (only difference, my beard is here black, it was  salt and pepper then...)

Autoportrait As a Zen Monk (only difference, my beard is here black, it was salt and pepper then…)

To illustrate my point with famous sample, here it is the celebrissime “Self-Portrait With a cut Ear” by my beloved Vincent. Not a very happy moment when he painted it, eh? (I don’t want to appear more Canadian than I really am but the “eh?” comes handy most of the time…)

The reproduction is pretty lame...

The reproduction is pretty lame…

Finally, without any other sample but Vincent and I (one has to be faithfull to his own blog, has he?) I will post a pretty embarassing photo (at least for a long time; now I consider it simply history; the history of my depression). In fact, it’s a scan not a photo. I did an experiment (better than the drunk classic of people sitting naked on the Xerox machine…) on myself and put my own head – with the eyes open, crazy bastard! – inisde my scanner. Like a lion tamer, trying to deal with the depression-tiger… It didn’t devored my head, I think…

Looking the scanner in the eye or Danu, the scanner tamer

Looking the scanner in the eye or Danu, the scanner tamer

Funny in the scary way, isn’t it? I could start a new art School trend: The Scanned Portrait & Self-Portrait as a Revealing Your True Identity Method… I’m pretty sure there are enough lunatics (of both sexes) around to make it work… But I don’t have the energy…

That’s all for now.

And DON’t put my scan-photo on Facebook, please! (Shall I remind you, folks, that all text and almost all photos on this blog – and post – are copyrighted to me?)

 

2 responses to “Self-portait, Why Do We Do it? (II)

  1. ion v danu

    At least, I liked myself my own post…That’s something…(Something pretty lame?)

  2. Loved it… quite humorous…
    I still haven’t managed to scare the depression monster… how could I? It’s inside myself!

    Love,

    C.

Leave a Reply

