Being a Portrayer, Again


Yesterday I was drawing portraits at a nice, cozy restaurant in Sibiu, called “La Pasaj” (because is based at the bottom of the locally famous Pasajul Scarilor – see photo). I made a deal with the owner. He will reserve me a small table 2-3 times a week and I will give a bohemian, artistic “cachet” and attract, maybe, some clients…

This is the place where I will draw portraits this summer

This is the place where I will draw portraits this summer

It was the first time and I didn’t have any great expectations. Quite quickly I had plenty of “clients” / models since I did the portrait of Petrica, a little boy, a bit sad

A bit sad, Petrica did me a great "service" repeating to everyone that I do portraits for free (It was my first, so I gave him the portrait...)

A bit sad, Petrica did me a great “service” repeating to everyone that I do portraits for free (It was my first, so I gave him the portrait…)

I had the time, until my father called me to my dayly duties, to make another portrait (this one I really like) and a sketch. Here they are:

A "Gavroche", quite street and IT smart (he did photograph himself his portrait - that I kept). Nice blue eyes.

A “Gavroche”, quite street and IT smart (he did photograph himself his portrait – that I kept). Nice blue eyes.

The portrait of Roberto, 11.

The portrait of Roberto, 11.

Here it is the sketch. No big deal but then it was only my first day as a street (ok, restaurant) artist after a very long pause. Sure hope the searing heat of the last days will cool off a little… This first experience gave me the taste and I love it…

Just a sketch, between portraits...

Just a sketch, between portraits…

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Being a Portrayer, Again

  1. Quite nice, good sketches!

    Somehow I “envy” you…

    Love, love, love

    C.

  2. Thanks, C! Don’t envy me (not now, I was kind of sick and in convalescence now…). One day, I hope to make some portraits (your too, if you want) in Portugal…

Leave a Reply

