You Are What You Eat…


The even better formulation would be: YOU ARE WHAT YOU ARE FEEDING YOURSELF WITH… Everything you see, hear, eat, read, feel, a.s.a.o., everything you are fed… everything meet what «you» are, at that specific moment in space and time and the result is the «YOU» (or I?) and what you do… What you draw and paint included…

So, Vincent must have been a pretty wonderful person, inside, considering all the junk he fed himself with… absinth, lots and lots of coffee (how else to get the tension, the intensity of that chrome yellow? he said…), cheap red wine… and so on… Fortunatelly, junk food joints weren’t there yet… he had to eat bread (probably whole weat) and cheese… and, ok, his spiritual food wasn’t bad at all: the Bible, at the beginning, and then Zola, Maupassant,  Goncourt brothers, and the best paintings he could lay his eyes on…Rembrandt, the Impressionists and Gauguin, Puvis de Chavannes, Millet, Daumier, Delacroix, etc. etc. Not bad at all… Theo gave him not only money but a dialogue partner, an attentive ear… Not to mention the beautiful nature of the south of France, his “Japan”… He really loved nature in all forms, trees and animals, insects and flowers, water and even his old shoes… The results, starting February 1888, are amazing… He did some beautiful and interesting paintings before, of course… But his epiphany, his revelation started with Arles…

`Vincent Pont de langlois

Vincent Van Gogh – Pont de Langois a Arles

Of course, most of all, maybe, Vincent loved people. Especially the humble, working people, the peasants, the weavers, and yes, the prostitutes… he had a deep, real compassion for the human kind, in all forms and shapes… His works are the living proof of that… This is the mysterious, the amazing alchemy of creation…

What about me? In this precise moment?

Well, let’s see: I got up relatively early (around 6:30 am)…brushed my teeth (some aren’t mine…  brushed them anyway…) Made a nasal rinse with salin solution (yoga style)… took a Scotish shower… worked a bit at the painting bellow…

nude unfinished

Then I prepared my breakfast (this new thing I’ve heard about from Lisa Garr’s Aware Show, L.A. and David “raw cocoa” Wolfe…it seems that cocoa powder is very good for us, lots and lots of Magnesium and stuff…) so, 1 grapefruit juice + 2 spoonfull of cocoa powder (some say cacao) + 1 pieces of whole bio wheat and some tasty spices (cardamom, corinader, gingember, cannelle) and some blueberry honey… Miam… miam… then I wrote this post first form… I’ve checked my emails and wrote some…

Then I brought in his weekly “permission” my elder son from the detoxification center … he will eat some home made food from his mom and look at bad, violent movies until will be time to bring him back… soon enough… but, at least, he will not destroy his brain with cheap alcohol and expensive pot…

After that, maybe I can paint some more (I wish I could do it all the time, almost…but i’s not that easy…) and even get some spiritual food… I read now this marvelous and interesting book by K.G. Durchkheim called in French Le centre de l’etre... Days past by like that… Vincent did not have the distraction of Internet and his oil colors dried painfully slowly…

But then who’s to say if it was better then or it is better now? I think it simply IS… and we have to do the most of it… If we can… Testifying about what we live (Temoigner de son vecu)

The even better formulation would be: YOU ARE WHAT YOU FEED YOURSELF WITH… Everything you see, hear, eat, read, feel, a.s.a.o., everything you feed into yourself or are fed… everything meet what ��you�� are, at that specific moment in space and time and the result is the ��YOU�� (or I?) and what you do… What you draw and paint included…So, Vincent must have been pretty wonderful person, inside, considering all the junk he fed himself with… absinthe, lots and lots of coffee (how else to get the tension, the intensity of that chrome yellow?), cheap red wine… and so on… Fortunately, junk food joints weren’t there yet… he had to eat bread (probably whole weat) and cheese… and, ok, his spiritual food wasn’t bad at all: the Bible, at the beginning, and then Zola, Maupassant, les freres Goncourt, and the best paintings he could lay his eyes on…Rembrandt, the Impressionists and Gauguin, Puvis de Chavannes, Millet, Daumier, Delacroix, etc. etc. Not that bad… Theo gave him not only money but a dialogue partner, a attentive and empathetic ear… Not to mention the beautiful nature of the south of France, his “Japan”… He really loved nature in all forms, trees and animals, insects and flowers, water and even his old shoes… The results, starting February 1888, are amazing… He did some beautiful and interesting paintings before, of course… But his epiphany, his revelation started with Arles…

`Vincent Pont de langlois

Vincent Van Gogh – Pont de Langois a Arles

Of course, most of all, maybe, Vincent loved people. Especially the humble, working people, the peasants, the weavers, and yes, the prostitutes… he had a deep, real compassion for the human kind, in all forms and shapes… His works are the living proof of that… This is the mysterious, the amazing alchemy of creation…

What about me? In this precise moment?

Well, lets see: I get up realtively early (around 6:30 am)…brushed my teeth (some aren’t mine…  brushed them anyway…) Made a nasal rinse with saline solution (yoga style)… took a Scottish shower… worked a bit at the painting bellow…

nude unfinished

Then I prepared my breakfast (this new thing I’ve heard about from Lisa Garr’s The Aware Show, L.A. and David “raw cocoa” Wolfe…it seems that cocoa powder is very good for us, lots and lots of Magnesium and stuff…) so, 1 grapefruit juice + 2 spoonfull of cocoa powder (some say cacao) + 1 pieces of whole bio wheat and some tasty spices (cardamom, coriander, ginger, cannelle) and some blueberry honey… Miam… miam… then I wrote this post first form… I.ve checked my emails and wrote some…

Then I brought in his weekly “permission” my elder son from the detoxification center … he will eat some home made cooking from his mom and look at bad, violent movies until will be time to bring him back… soon enough… but, at least, he will not destroy his brain with cheap alcohol and expensive pot…

After that, maybe I can paint some more (I wish I could do it all the time, almost…but i’s not that easy…) and even get some spiritual food… I read a marvelous and interesting book by K.G. Durchkhheim called in French Le centre de l’etre… Days past by like that… Vincent did not have the distraction of Internet and his oil colors dired painfully slowly… But then who to say if it was batter then or it is better now? I think it simply IS… and we have to do the most of it… If we can…

10 responses to “You Are What You Eat…

  1. Ba da! Imi plac, desi suferinta lui Ianus e prea mare…Io si parerile mele…

  2. funny thing! comentariul tau pt ultimul post a aparut aici! nu-i bai!

    Nu-ti fa probleme daca nu apare imediat…le administrez fiindca sunt o multime de spamuri… s-ar putea uneori sa dureze o zi-doua…

    Roy Orbinson canta acum…

  3. Dan Romascanu

    Danu – I love these comments series. You may be on something big. Go on and good luck!

    • Thanks, Dan! It means a lot coming from a connoisseur like you! I`am not suppose to HOPE but still, there is an opportunity and I will take it, eventually… And if not, no big deal… I paint and I draw and write and read anyway and well, maybe it’s a big word, but I’m not far from happy! constantly happy… silly happy…

  4. Like your nude, whatever you are eating.

    I did a pencil drawing of that Van Gogh painting for an art class years ago. I love that painting.

  5. I’m eating all kind of peculiar stuff, lateley, bill… Just now: 1 lemon juice, 2 spoons of raw cacao beans, 2 of Demerrara sugar cane, 12 almond + sesame seeds + citrouille and sunflower seed… 2 pans of whole weat..

    The lemon kind of spoiling the fun, even if, usually, I adore lemons…

    It will give a very acid and acrimonious (?) drawing, this morning… Maybe an all dressed nude?

  6. Very great article! Honest!

  7. Thank you, Eileen. And tank you for your visit here. I do try to be honest, with myself first of all.

  8. You have done it once more. Great writing!

Leave a comment